Chamber of Commerce Awards Ed W. Brooke Scholarship to FHS Grad


Laura O'Callaghan, President & CEO at Tri-County Regional Chamber of Commerce, which represents businesses in the towns of Bellingham, Franklin, Holliston, Hopedale, Hopkinton, Medway, Mendon, Milford, Millis, and Upton, has announced the recipient of the Ed W. Brooke Scholarship.

"Congratulations to Mirabella Carrara, Franklin High School, on being the recipient of the Edward W. Brooke $1000 Scholarship. In her excellent essay, Miranda described what we might be able to learn from Edward W. Brooke in 2023, or what we might be able to emulate in his path.

"In 2023, as we strive for progress and inclusivity, it is essential to look back at trailblazers like Edward W. Brooke and draw inspiration from their experiences.

"Edward W. Brooke was not only a groundbreaking figure but also a symbol of hope, perseverance, and courage. As the first African-American to be elected as a US Senator, he shattered racial barriers and paved the way for future generations. His unwavering dedication to public service, commitment to equality, and the pursuit of justice serve as a shining example for us all."

The Scholarship received support from the following businesses and individuals:

Tri-County Regional Chamber

Canvas n Cup
Sierra's Brick Oven Pizza and Pub
Local Business First

Communities Matter!
Franklin Cruise Night
Franklin Observer

Alan Earls
Michael & Kimberly Pradko
Allen & Olympia Caswell
William Batchelor

The Chamber is active in many ways, helping not only businesses but also the communities it serves.  The Brooke Scholarship is one of several offered through the Chamber. In addition. the Chamber offers its annual Honor Scholars initiative to recognize the achievements of high schoolers in the 10 Tri-County Communities.

More information about the Chamber and membership is available here.

I'm interested
I disagree with this
This is unverified